dubai burj khalifa

United Arab Emirates (UAE)

The United Arab Emirates is often referred to as the U.A.E., a federation of seven different emirates, each with its own king or sheikh. They are namely Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Ajman, Sharjah, Ras al Khaimah, Fujairah, and Umm al Quwain. It has coastlines on the Gulf of Oman and the Persian Gulf, with Saudi Arabia to the west and southwest, Oman to the southeast and on the eastern tip of the Musandam Peninsula. UAE is a country rich in history and culture and a convenient stopover in the middle east.

The population in UAE is incredibly diverse because only some percentage of population are ethnic Emiratis whereas the rest come from various other parts of South Asia, part of South East Asia and western countries.

Abu Dhabi is the largest emirate of all and is the capital city of U.A.E. The official language is Arabic and among the immigrant population the languages of English, Hindi, Urdu, Farsi and Filipino are spoken.

Dubai is the most populous city in the UAE and the most sought tourist destination in the world. Dubai is usually called the “shopping capital of the Middle East” and is a major tourist destination which attracts millions of people each year particularly to visit the tallest building in the world – The Burj Khalifa. The city also offers various interesting tourist spots for the discerning traveler including the Palm Jumeirah, Dubai Creek, Marina beach, Miracle Garden and many more.